How can I get my Microsoft Camera app to shoot JPEG?

jege41

May 19, 2012
Visit site
1520 Camera help

Hi

I'm new to the 1520
I'M not able to set the Microsoft Camera app to shoot JPEG (5 MP+ 16 MP) but I can when I use the Lumia camera app?
I can set the MSFT camera app to shoot JPEG (5 MP)+ DNG (16MP) or just JPEG (5MP)
I prefer the MSFT Camera app for its ease of navigation while shooting.

Thanks

Harrie-S

Retired Ambassador
Sep 26, 2014
Visit site
Re: 1520 Camera help

The Microsoft Camera does not have this options that is why you can not set them.
Only the Lumia Camera (and probably some other 3de party apps) have this option.

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I believe the Microsoft Camera App uses the same 5MP oversampled image that Lumia Camera would. And there is a reason for that. Other Apps such as Camera360 Sight and ProShot also let you toggle for file size on the 1520. They use up as much of the data from the sensor as the App creator programs. Most seem to fall into the 5MP-8MP range by default.

IMHO, the best general purpose use is Lumia Camera 5MP.jpg + 16MP.dng. This gives you the most flexibility and options. The stated purpose of the 16MP.jpg is to allow you to crop in on something small in the photo without loosing detail. But with the oversample nature of the 5MP.jpg you really don't gain much from the 16MP.jpg.

Here's a 5MP oversampled image:
1520-030.jpg

Here we use the 5MP and crop in on the cranes:
1520-030_5MP_tight-crop.jpg

And cropping in on the cranes on the 16MP.jpg:
1520-030_16MP_tight-crop.jpg

Sure the 16MP yields more pixels (and thus a greater x/y axis), but it really is not adding clarity, only size. How many applications will there be when you take a picture of something off in the distance and need to crop in so tight? And if you know before hand, you can always select the setting for 16MP.jpg before you shoot (assuming you have time).