Convince me to switch to wp8?

anon(382406)

Jun 21, 2012
Visit site
Hello!
I'll admit I was enticed to read about Microsoft's secret event and they did a good job of piquing my interest with wp8, but I'm not sure I want to take the plunge and thought I'd ask the users themselves. First a quick history:
I began using smartphones with the Palm Treo650, loved it!
Stayed with Palm all the way through the Palm Pre and Pixi, and would still be there if HP hadn't flushed it's future.
Finally feeling the Pre give way I went to Android (refusing to be an Apple ******) and settled on the Motorola Photon. It's fast, a good size, and has it's other perks.
Yet I feel unhappy with it, still longing for the functionality and convenience of the Palm Pre days.
As a pastor I do a lot of texting, emailing, writing and internet surfing. For down time I enjoy the occasional game, but nothing overly involving.
So is WP8 right for someone thinking of saying goodbye to Android?

Oh yeah, by the way, I'm on Sprint...

bigkevbosky

Nov 22, 2011
Visit site

Sprint is the only major US carrier that hasn't announced they're going to be providing a launch day WP8 device.

So, you may not have a choice. Still, if you want to experience what Windows Phone is about, check out a used HTC Arrive. You can get them pretty cheap now.

LexusFman

Jan 14, 2012
Visit site
Hello!
I'll admit I was enticed to read about Microsoft's secret event and they did a good job of piquing my interest with wp8, but I'm not sure I want to take the plunge and thought I'd ask the users themselves. First a quick history:
Stayed with Palm all the way through the Palm Pre and Pixi, and would still be there if HP hadn't flushed it's future.
Finally feeling the Pre give way I went to Android (refusing to be an Apple ******) and settled on the Motorola Photon. It's fast, a good size, and has it's other perks.
Yet I feel unhappy with it, still longing for the functionality and convenience of the Palm Pre days.