Why are you upgrading from WP7.8 to WP8?

Marute

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
Hi all this is something I have been wondering so I thought, "why not ask".

When I by a smartphone for myself I usually keep it for about 2 years before getting a new one. I keep it for so long (if you can say that is a long time) partially because I most often grow very fond of my new handset, partially because I cannot afford a new phone for some time anyway (I'm a student), and partially because I find it is kind of a waste of resources to get rid of a relatively new phone after just a couple of months.

I see a lot of post around here stating that people look forward to replacing their Lumia 800's and 900's with a WP8 device and while I too am very interested in the new devices and what they have to offer, I won't replace my Lumia 800 which I bought this February.

So to get to the point my question is: why are you replacing your relatively new WP7.5 handset with a WP8? Is it because it has features that you desperately need, are you dissatisfied with your 'old' windows phone or do you just always want the lastest and best? Please note that I'm not blaming anyone for being wasteful or extravagant or anything I'm merely curious. :happy:

When I put away my euforic joy and the hype about WP8 and the new phones I see that I am personally not missing anything in my Lumia 800 and that buying a brand new WP8 device will not give me a better experience than I already have - just one more reason to keep my Lumia 800.

But what do you think, I'd like to hear your opinion on replacing your 6 month old legacy device with a brand new WP8.

Oh, and sorry if I have some grammatical errors here and there. English is not my first language and it has been a long day and I'm tired. Just thought I'd leave this one online through the night to see if I've gotten eny replies. ;) C'ya around!

jhoff80

Apr 27, 2003
Visit site