Dear Microsoft, Please bring back my Radio

CSJr1

Aug 15, 2012
Visit site
Dear Microsoft

I have been using your products for years. From DOS to PPC2002, your leading and acquiring skills are the bedrock for the software industry. As a third party developer, I took interest in the WP7 platform just to see it succeed. I must admit, I have dabbled into Android development as well but I find the VS IDE better than Eclipse.

I am trying to understand why you would remove a feature from a product you are so intent on having succeed? The FM Radio, while not known or used by all, was important for me. It gives me that sense of freedom from carrier data. If ever out of range of cell or wifi services, it can be a comforting feature for a live human voice.

Every place that I have searched online, I experience the same conclusion. Whether it be from the spec sheets of current WP8 devices or screen shots lacking the Radio item on XBox Music, the FM Radio Option is removed from WP8. The Qualcomm chip-set supports FM Radio, so is it possible to retain this feature in an upcoming update?

Lets not have carriers data clock my Radio streaming, in some cases all stations are not available or sound is delayed. I would prefer that I didn't have to buy unique headphones just for the radio, any headphones should suffice.

While I can't say this is a deal-breaker, I hope you know that this small feature is/was important to somebody.

thanks

http://www.change.org/petitions/mic...io-receiver-in-their-phones-with-qualcomm-soc

Last edited:

firstness

Nov 1, 2012
Visit site
Microsoft is doing you a favor. Every time I listen to the radio I nearly gag from the terrible ads which are designed for morons and the lowest common denominator. I can feel my IQ lowering as I listen.

Reject commercial mass-consumption radio and take control of what enters your brain. There are plenty of free audiobooks and podcasts you can download at home and sync to your device.

jeffm87

Nov 2, 2012
Visit site