Newbie Q on WP8 phones

WforWindows

Nov 7, 2012
Visit site
Hi Guys,
I've never used a Windows Mobile phone before and are very interested in the N920 and have a few questions would like to ask that apply to Windows 8:

1- how do you download music/video onto the phone?
-is it drag and drop to its memory like Android or is like iPhone's iTune syncing?

2- Can you install Windows 7 applications to the phone (Windows 8)?
-running Photoshop on the phone will bring a whole new meaning to photography

3- I guess this question is similar to #1 and 2, how do you install apps onto the phone, from a store or you can download onto its memory and install it from there?

4 - ATT is selling the N920 for 449$ usd which I think is excellent price for top-of-the-line phone, Anyone know if it is LOCKED to ATT like the way iPhone are locked to its carrier where unlocking is only possible by the carriers itself?
-I'm from Canada and I'll doubt any carriers in Canada will go below 600$. In another word, how easy is it unlocking the N920 or Nokia Windows phone in general?

Thanks in advance.

brmiller1976

Aug 5, 2011
Visit site
1 -- You use the Windows Phone 8 sync utility for Windows 7, the Windows Phone sync utility for Windows 8/RT, or the Windows Phone Sync utility for OS X.

2 -- No. WP8 only runs (most) apps made for WP7 and apps made for WP8, downloaded from Microsoft's Windows Phone Store. There are about 130,000 as of the latest count.

3 -- Only from Microsoft's Windows Phone Store.

4 -- It is locked to AT&T, but AT&T corporate will typically provide an unlock code if you bug them often enough, on a phone that has no contract associated. It will take you a while to get the code though...

Last edited:

Landsharkk

Oct 6, 2012
Visit site
1) Actually it's both. You can use the sync utilities that brmiller1976 pointed out, OR you can do the drag-and-drop from a folder on the PC to a folder on your N920 (this is new with Windows Phone 8).