Connect to University Wi-Fi

danbbrantley

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Hi all,

I come asking for help and praying for a yes.

My university uses the following Wi-Fi settings:

Security Type: WPA2 - Enterprise
Encryption Type: AES
Security Key: Blank

I have read all over the Microsoft Forums trying to figure out if this will be supported, but haven't had any luck with posts specific to the AES encryption type.

I'm studying abroad for the semester and don't live close to my Uni when I'm in the states, so just trying to get answers sooner rather than later.

These are the instructions to connect to Wi-Fi manually using Windows 7 (PC). They are the most in-depth and they don't have instructions for WP.

1) From the Start Menu go to the Control Panel.
2) In Category View click on 'View Network Status and Tasks' then click 'Manage Wireless Networks'.
3) Click on the 'Add' tab.
4) Continue with 'Manually Create A Network Profile'.
5)Enter the following values:

Name: Airfalcon
Security Type: WPA2 - Enterprise
Encryption Type: AES
Security Key: Blank

6) Click 'Next'.
7) Continue with 'Change Connection Settings' and click the 'Security' tab.
8) For the Network Authentication Method select 'Protected EAP (PEAP)'.
9) Click 'Settings' to right of (PEAP).
10) Check 'Equifax Secure Certificate Authority'.
11) Verify Authentication Method as: 'Secure Password (EAP-MSCHAP)'.
12) For non-Bentley Machines Click 'Configure'.
13) Uncheck 'Automatically Use Windows Login Name and Password.'
14) Click Finish/Apply/Next all screens.
15) Connect to Airfalcon.
16) Enter your Bentley email address and password.

Can anyone tell me if I'll be able to connect? I'm praying that since the Authentication Method is PEAP I'm okay? Please? Maybe?

danbbrantley

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site