Tethering Issue - Windows Phone 8 and Windows 8

pdxrunr

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site
So I have a brand new HTC 8X on Verizon. If I enable Internet Sharing, I can connect and use the connection just fine with an Ipad, Windows 7 PC, other phones, pretty much every device I have tried. The exception is my Dell Latitude E4310 with Windows 8 Pro loaded on it. I can connect to the wifi just fine, I get an IP and a gateway address. I just can't seem to get traffic to route through the device. Same PC with another hard drive with Windows 7 works just fine. I'm an IT Pro and have tried changing just about every network setting you can think of and I'm stumped. Never seen anything like it. The PC has a Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter and I'm using the driver that Win 8 installed. Dell doesn't offer any Windows 8 drivers and the Windows 7 driver they offer doesn't load in Win 8. Anyone have any thoughts on something I can try? One last interesting tidbit...same laptop....it will tether just fine to my old HTC HD7! So it appears some spec has changed in Windows Phone 8 with regards to Internet Sharing, but of course there are no "settings" on the phone that I can see that we are allowed to change.

Thanks!

L

hopmedic

Apr 27, 2011
Visit site
When was the last time the Win8 PC was restarted? I know... silly question - but I had the exact same problem yesterday, and I'm an IT pro as well, and it drove me nuts for an hour. But when I last-ditch-effort tried a reboot (what is it we tell our users? Did you try rebooting?), it did an install of updates, and then all worked well. The kicker was that I had already done a shutdown and a startup, but the updates didn't install then. I had to do a "restart" for the updates to install. I think it was the updates keeping it from connecting, myself.

pdxrunr

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site