Adding Music to WP8

pdch

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
I am new to Windows Phone. Before making the jump, I had researched many aspects of the platform, and one thing that kept popping up had given me some pause on changing OS's. You see, in WebOS, you could just plug your phone in to a PC and it would show up as a drive where you could just drag and drop whatever you needed to and from the device. I kept reading post after post and article after article how you HAD to use music sync software to get music onto the device.

Well, last night I plugged my phone into my PC to see if I could copy my old ringtones over and was surprised to see a Music folder (as well as video, ringtones, pictures, and documents). I decided to just try and copy a few music folders over to the phone. I unplugged the phone and opened the music app, and all of the new music was instantly there and neatly grouped in all of the appropriate places (albums, artists, etc).

I guess the internet search results when looking up Windows Phone information defaults to older info, but am happy to see that at least the results I had pulled up seem to be outdated.

Now if I can just figure out how to copy over new notification sounds....

pdch

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
Honestly speaking old windows phone 7 doesn't support the mass storage mode.....

Unfortunately, when I was searching things like "adding music to Windows Phone 8" I would typically only get articles that talked about WP7 - which is why I posted - so other newbies like me would not just assume they couldn't do it.

One funny thing I have noticed, every now and then I get a code "this music file could not be played on the phone" WHILE the song is playing. Guess that's a bug.

tk-093

Aug 30, 2010
Visit site
Now if I can just figure out how to copy over new notification sounds....