How does the browser compare to iPhone and s3 stock browsers?

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
I think you meant this more as a joke but I honestly think that this is exactly what will mostly happen.

Oh and the mobile Gmail site uses swipe to refresh, for example. From what I understand, this is one of the things not yet supported in IE.

Not a joke, but the only solution to the problem I can think of. I just doubt that it is a realistic solution, hence the emoticon. It would also imply that WebKit adopt emerging internet technologies at the same conservative pace as Trident does today (to avoid enterprise rage). Finally, we could also solve the adoption rate issue by doing away with all the internet standard bodies and defining WebKit's implementation as the standard. Again, no joke, but not really serious either. It doesn't really seem viable.

Anyway, I'm not 100% sure what you are referring too with Gmail's swipe capability (I'm not a web developer, so I'm somewhat out on a limb here). Perhaps WebKit's implementation of their own proprietary touch API (touchstart, touchmove and touchend)?

SZRimaging

Nov 23, 2012
Visit site
Not a joke, but the only solution to the problem I can think of. I just doubt that it is a realistic solution, hence the emoticon. It would also imply that WebKit adopt emerging internet technologies at the same conservative pace as Trident does today (to avoid enterprise rage). Finally, we could also solve the adoption rate issue by doing away with all the internet standard bodies and defining WebKit's implementation as the standard. Again, no joke, but not really serious either. It doesn't really seem viable.

Wouldn't that just make the people behind Webkit the ruling standards body? Not to mention, Trident, Gecko and whatever Opera uses would be left out in the cold...

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
Not to mention, Trident, Gecko and whatever Opera uses would be left out in the cold...