WP8 folders?

Traxan

Dec 9, 2012
Visit site
Howdy. I'm new to WP8 so forgive the newbiness of this question. In iOS, if you drag one app icon onto another, a folder is created. This did a great job to reduce clutter and organize my main window. Can I do that in WP8?

TIA.

Paul May

Lumia 950 & Surface Pro Champion
Nov 8, 2012
Visit site
No. You really need to do some research on WP8. You have your app list and main page but you have control on what you have on your main page by choosing what to pin to the start page. Using folders on WP8 would be redundant because it has the live tiles. So whatever u pin to the start shows updates on whatever that app is.

robinleck

Sep 28, 2012
Visit site
Folders & Files concept is an obsolete & legacy concept from the old days of Windows/Mac desktops. Only iPhone/Android phones are still using the decades-old system.
In Windows Phone, Live & Resizable Tiles are the new normal. Its a groundbreaking modern-day UI. It's a paradigm shift in mobile OS platform. If you can adapt & assimilate to it, it's very refreshing & flippingly fun to use. It's like having a beautiful gal winking at you everytime you unlock the start screen. We need to wean ourselves of ancient files- folders lifestyle. Cheers ;)

DuncanF62

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Files and folder will be with us forever. The question is one of apps and folders. And for the same reason that when you have thousands of files you categorise them into folders for easy location, it makes sense to have that same ability with a myriad of apps, just as you can do by grouping tiles on Windows 8. My home screen is two pages long and that's about enough for me. The trouble is my apps screen is getting longer, and some apps are not always intuitively named so I have to scroll to find them. So yes, I do think folders are useful for apps to categorise them and I'm hoping some gentle soul will bring out an app to do this.

Last edited:

robinleck

Sep 28, 2012
Visit site