Switching from Android to WP8 part 2: 4 days in

MarcMaiden

Nov 12, 2010
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm back to share more experiences with WP8 (HTC 8x) after switching from using Nexus devices.

So any issues I had over the past 4 days in terms of bugs have been resolved - things like having Skydrive upload photos to Facebook at the same time as my trying to share photos were causing issues but were quickly resolved.

One thing I also noticed is that developers who take the time to develop rich applications - not this simple ports - create extremely well designed and beautiful apps. These apps include:
FidMe
MetroTalk
MetroTube
Rowi
WPGram
Photofunia

As a software engineer myself, I can see developing for windows phone can be a lot of fun - especially if you love programming - WP8 SDK lets you be flexible with design - whether you want to develop metro style apps or static page style applications.

This brings me to the only thing that concerns me about the platform - It's long term support. I love WP8, I love the designs of the available devices, and I love what Microsoft has been doing. At this point, the race for #3 isn't over yet - Blackberry 10 is right around the corner. I'm rooting for Windows here, but it's super hard to see what will happen. If Blackberry flops - then we could be in good shape.

Lets take a look at history:
Back in 2009, 2 years after launch, Android held about %5 of the market share. while iPhone held 25-30. This is when the Original Droid came out - the first real device (and software) to compete with the iPhone.