How does Facebook update their chat services? (problems with facebook chat delays)

bluestar_uk

Jun 17, 2013
Visit site
Hi guys,

This is my first time post here on the forum, and being a regular forum user on other sites, I have done the usual searches first of all. I've spent the last few hours searching, so my apologies if I have missed it and covering it again.

Now the reason why I am posting is becuase like many of you, I have recently (only in the last week) starting having problems with integrated Facebook chat on my phone. I have no apps in use and neither is Facebook logged on anywhere else. Be it on phone browser or PC. Plus I have logged out of the browser rather than just close the page down.

I understand that this issue is found out to be the way facebook changes there chat services and allows for offline messaging etc. which like most of you; quite disappointed and angry with MS because this renders the integration of Facebook chat useless. Agreed with others! This is a huge selling point of the phone, particularly with millions of users on Facebook.

However, I have had a HTC HD7 since day one and I never had any problems with chat delays on Facebook. When I got the Mango update, I still never had any delays. 2 months ago I upgraded to a Lumia 920 and never had any problems; all the time whilst this issue was being reported.

So... does Facebook update their chat service across different servers at different times? Similar to how they did the timeline update and home screen changes (some people had it whilst others didn't) because up until a week ago my Lumia 920 was working seamlessly with the integrated chat/SMS without any delays at all. Now every message takes a minimum of 60-70 minutes, if the message arrives at all.

I have been using the chat all this time, and I don?t believe 50+ of my Facebook contacts have all of a sudden started changing their phone status to offline, so to clash with the findings that have already been found.