What are Windows Phone apps programmed in?

Jay Bennett

Resident Developer
Nov 2, 2010
Visit site
The bulk of the programming is in C# (which is a lot like Java if you know any other languages). You create the user interfaces in XAML which has similarities to the HTML markup language.

Honestly yes I'd day it would be a great place to start, it's pretty easy to understand and pick up, as a developer I picked it up in about a week so I imagine a beginner could learn in 3-4 weeks. Obviously that's only for the basics, the advanced stuff may take longer.

I've actually been thinking about writing some beginners guides after I finish my finals, if there's enough interest for me to put some time in I'd gladly publish something?

enahs555

Feb 21, 2011
Visit site
As I said previously, all my numerous apps (link to em: WP7applist - Windows Phone 7 apps news, reviews, deals, price drops not sure why some are listed multiple times) I started learning to program in January just to make apps on WP7
Yes, my apps are fairly simple and slowly getting more complex. But I have devoted ~2 hours a night the first 10 days when learning, and then another 5 hours at most a week on making apps.

Each app was really just something new I was learning for fun. So most of them are really just ideas I came up with while learning something new, to test my self.
I have all the material in my head now to make much more complicated apps now, just not the time or desire (want a really good idea).

I first learned with this video series:
Windows Phone 7 Development for Absolute Beginners | Channel 9

And random internet searching for help with C#

jalb

Nov 11, 2010
Visit site
I've actually been thinking about writing some beginners guides after I finish my finals, if there's enough interest for me to put some time in I'd gladly publish something?

I am definitely interested. That would be awesome.

I started learning to program in January just to make apps on WP7