Alternatives to Xbox Music

Hoku001

Sep 18, 2013
Visit site
I have an XBM Pass subscription and WP8 and I hate it. Zune and WP7 was great, but XBM is a step back in time about 20 years in terms of features. Sure, for some people a cloud-only based music service like XBM may work well, but for some of us (read old farts) with a large collection of personally owned ripped MP3s, XBM is flat out terrible.

I'm looking for the best alternative to XBM on WP8. In order of priority I want a service that will work like Zune did with WP7:

1) A service that uses software like iTunes or Zune on my PC... where I can create a playlist of music from my collection and sync it to my phone so that the music files that make up that playlist, are copied to my phone. (For those uniformed, XBM doesn't do this at all, seriously). Yes, XBM does have the cloud matching feature, but a lot of my music is Asian - no cloud matching.

2) Enables management of podcasts (also not available in XBM).

3) Can steam ala Pandora; Zune had SmartDJ, XBM does have a "Radio" function.

These are the 3 priorities I would have in a service. If you can buy songs from within the service, great, but it's no that important to me.