Windows Central website is slow and full of ads

sejgiul

Nov 26, 2011
Visit site
Guys, come on now. I've been a long-time visitor to WP Central, but the website is turning into a real piece of something you find under your shoe. Loading times (on different networks and devices) are beyond ridiculous now. It just took me almost 4 minutes to get to this point in order to make a forum post...

As I'm a web developer myself, I can see where it's going wrong. The numerous calls to google's and yahoo's ad services are the main thing slowing the website down apart from errors in the actual coding of the website. The front page took almost 100 seconds to load, that's more than 1 and a half minute!

I would seriously sack whoever is in charge of the website, because they're doing a terrible job.

I really hope the website is going to be improved over time, because I'm fed up of visiting and waiting. I can get my news fix elsewhere, so that's not a problem.

James Falconer

Nov 1, 2012
Visit site
Thank you for stepping up to make sure your voice is heard... we DO hear you loud and clear.

Trust me, ad issues and slow load times are critically important to us. I understand the frustration and encourage you to contact me directly (my email is below) with specific details on the issues you bring about. The more specific you can be, the better... chances are I'll have more questions about your browser, device(s), etc... to help narrow things down for our tech team.

Bottom line... do reach out, I want to hear from you.

Thomas Jordan

Mar 5, 2014
Visit site
Guys, come on now. I've been a long-time visitor to WP Central, but the website is turning into a real piece of something you find under your shoe. Loading times (on different networks and devices) are beyond ridiculous now. It just took me almost 4 minutes to get to this point in order to make a forum post...