Zune Pass to Xbox Music pass nightmare

sherveyj

Dec 25, 2012
Visit site
Zune Music pass supports 6 devices (3 PCs and 3 devices such as phones or zunehd)
I've been using Zune pass for last 2 or 3 years.
Upgraded 1 WP7 to WP8 for xmas. Now stuck with this Xbox Music Pass garbage that only allows 4 devices total.
I deleted old WP7 from zune client - to be replaced with WP8. Then using Xbox music pass trying to delete 2 PC devices to whittle it down to 4 devices total.
Else my new WP8 says it exceeded maximum devices when i wish to download music.
I cant delete the last device from Xbox Music Pass device list because you only get to delete 2 devices per month.
Called support and they said nothing they can do. So I now have a new WP8 that cant download music for the next month.
Also the fact Zune could use 6 devices and Xbox Music only allows 4 is killing me. I'm thinking of returning my WP8 for a new WP7 and stay with the 6 device Zune license.
I was a diehard zune customer and was an evangelist - but now I'm just pissed off and extremely disappointed.

HeyCori

Mod Emeritus
Mar 1, 2011
Visit site
I never cancelled my Zune Pass when I moved to Windows Phone 8. Surprisingly, DRM content still syncs just fine. The only problem I've found is that sometimes when I first play a DRM song it says "can't verify media usage rights" (or something along those lines). Hitting play again fixes the problem.

HeyCori

Mod Emeritus
Mar 1, 2011
Visit site
Yes. In fact, I noticed that I have an active Xbox Music pass subscription despite never signing up for it. I assume it's because of my Zune Pass subscription.

sherveyj

Dec 25, 2012
Visit site
As soon as you move to WP8.... you need to use Xbox Music. And the 6 device limit allowed in Zune Music Pass gets reduced to 4 in Xbox Music pass.