whats the deal with WP8 music player?

sticitodaman

Nov 30, 2012
Visit site
I have yet to upgrade my lumia 710 to a windows 8 phone, mostly because I was waitng for the right device and I think its here (lumia 925 t-mobile). But I didn't realize that windows phone 8 doesn't have the zune music player app?! Is this true? One of my top priorities for my next smartphone is a solid music player app and I have been using a zune device since 2008. I'm still rockin the zune hd. How does the windows phone 8 xbox music app differ from the old zune app? Can you still sync music to your phone for local playback or is everything streaming from the cloud? What is local playback like? I see alot of complaints about music playback on WP8 and I don't understand exactly how it works. I just need the basic zune player with the ability to play my own collection without any sort of internet connection. thanks

kamikaze80

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
No Zune. No idea why no replacement yet. Connecting Xbox Music to the internets messes up your metadata, so don't do that if you've tweaked the metadata on your music collection.

SeeVuPlay

Apr 3, 2011
Visit site
I also still have my zune hd and still using it daily. Xbox music is not bad...it does the basic music playback you you are looking for. I have music locally stored, ut since my phone is only 16 g, I only put about 200 songs on there

spaulagain

Apr 27, 2012
Visit site
I have both a WP7.8 and WP8 device. I find the "Zune Player" and "Xbox Player" pretty similar on a day to day use. I still use the Zune desktop app to organize my music because it kicks *** at it. But I have no problem with Xbox Music on my phone. And the Windows 8 Xbox app is getting better all the time.

Both the phone apps are pretty similar.

feeked

Jan 20, 2012
Visit site
Honestly my biggest complaint is the live tile. I liked how Zune music showed the last played artist, not just while currently playing. The current tile looks abrasive on the start screen