Xbox Music or Spotify for Lumia 830?

SaltedSquirrel7

Jul 19, 2014
Visit site
Hi everybody!! :)

I've been debating changing the way that I listen to music, and at the moment are in the process of uploading my old iTunes collection to OneDrive which my Laptop with W8 and Surface 2 will see. The problem however, is that my L830 does not and I am wondering if it is worth changing this.

I am tempted by Xbox Music as this will fit in with my devices naturally however I wanted to know what other's experiences are using this on a day by day basis? Is Spotify a better alternative - looking at this however I find it a little confusing looking on WP8.1. I also cannot use this on my Surface :( Alternatively, am I better building up a collection and syncing manually to the phone.

I cracked in a 128GB MicroSD card in my phone as I like to keep an offline copy for when I have no signal!

Any advice is much appreciated!

Stephen Pedersen

Oct 15, 2013
Visit site
I have a subscription for both of these services. Both are great in different ways. Spotify has a larger music selection and it's much nicer to discover music and make playlists on. However, to just play music I enjoy the x box music app better for locally stored music and only use Spotify for playlists. Additionally,I only make the playlists on my PC, which in turn I can then play them on my Spotify app. It's just much nicer to navigate Spotify on the PC. The x box music app, on the other hand is quite easy to navigate with. Something to note is that you can't manage your locally music collection on Xbox music on your PC. You can only do this on your WP. Another cool option that x box music will acquire is one drive music streaming. I'm not sure when this will become a reality though.

Do you have any further questions?

SaltedSquirrel7

Jul 19, 2014
Visit site