One month in to android as a windows phone convert

Immortal Lobster

Feb 15, 2013
Visit site
I'm going to make an attempt to keep this short, and an honest review of the os, not the hardware. I'm no professional at this, I can't guarantee this will flow well, but I'm going to try to be direct and honest.

I've been riding the windows mobile/phone bus for 18 years, starting with the HP Jornada, first phone was the cingular 3125, then a slurry of phones since culminating in the lumia 950. Took a lot of Microsofts kicks to my teeth, and the kick to the family jewels by killing groove forced me to jump ship. Decided to go to android, with the Samsung galaxy s8.

My first thought after a month of using this is: How in the hell did this become the most popular OS in the market?

To this day, the android problems of old still plague this device. It bogs down, requires frequent pressing of the "optimize" button to keep it going, and a seemingly weekly reboot. Frankly... It reminds me a lot of windows xp. Occasionally an app crashes, not sure for what reason, and memory management is a surprising must. That said, the multitasking is much more real than it was on windows mobile, so I guess we can chalk this up to cost/benefit analysis. For a phone, I think W10mo did it better.

Since it's as customizable as it is, I did replace touch wiz with what was formerly known as arrow, replaced the SMS app with textra, but decided to keep the default dialer and contacts list. The notification counts stopped working on all of them last week, and i have yet to resolve why. I also replace the Samsung keyboard with swype, which I was under the impression was the frame keyboard that was on W10mo, is close, but not as accurate and really miss the cursor caret. Swype on Android allows placement of arrow keys, but I keep accidentally hitting them instead of the space bar due to a poor location. Again, W10mo did it best.