Moving from Windows Phone to Android

James Falconer

Nov 1, 2012
Visit site
What are some considerations for users to know about when switching from a Windows Phone to and Android phone? Any key hints or tips to make the transition a smooth one?

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
I've been using Android for almost 3 years now. My advice is don't try to make an Android device look or act like a Windows Phone. I've also used desktop Linux along with desktop Windows for many years, and I've never attempted to make desktop Linux look like desktop Windows, or vice-versa.

My main suggestion is to embrace Google. When I switched, I exported all my contacts from outlook.com to Gmail, and used Google going forward. That way there were no issues with contacts/calendar not syncing that seems to be a common issue for many former Windows Phone users.

G4Grandad

Mar 27, 2015
Visit site
Download the Microsoft Apps app from the Play Store. You'll find setting Microsoft has available on Android and plenty of reviews from users. Just about everything works really well. I agree about giving Android a fair chance but I actually find a number of Microsoft apps superior.

jeffchapik

Oct 10, 2013
Visit site
Android manages SD memory very poorly. You cannot install apps directly to an SD card as you can with WM, and once installed they can only be moved one at a time.

I never found a way to move my music or photos to SD memory either. It was nearly worthless.

I couldn't find a music player that could stream from my music library on OneDrive.

Since my contacts were all stored under my Outlook account, I had difficulty syncing them on Android. I got it working and managed to link the proper profile photos using a 3rd party app, but it was a pain to do. After it all disappeared the second time, I reverted back to W10M.

Android just seems very disjointed and jumbled up compared to W10M.

Guytronic

Ambassador Team Leader
Nov 4, 2013
Visit site