Navigon app now charging $30.00 for maps???

SteveF101

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
I have been using the Navigon app for a couple of months now. When I first purchased it to save disk space I only download my state. I am planning a trip in a few weeks that is out of state so wanted to download that state.

There was a recent update in the last week that now forces you to use something called Freshmaps that requires you to purchase it ($30.00!!!!) before you can download any states. WTH??? A map that was free just last week now costs $30.00?? This app cost $50.00 and now requires an additional $30.00 purchase to be able to use it. You can just about buy a dedicated GPS device with free lifetime maps for that much.

Surely this cannot be legal to have to buy two apps to get the first one to work without telling you until AFTER you purchase it.

When I bought the app it advertised it as having up to date maps for the entire USA at no additional charge, it has this at the end of the Market place info -

-NAVTEQ map material for all of USA

Anyone else run into this? Any recourse for those of us who did buy this?

theefman

Nov 14, 2008
Visit site
Are you sure? I just tested it and I was able to add a new state without getting any prompts to buy anything new, just downloaded the new map. Are you hitting the Map Update button? I just ticked the map I wanted and added it no problem.

SteveF101

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
Are you sure? I just tested it and I was able to add a new state without getting any prompts to buy anything new, just downloaded the new map. Are you hitting the Map Update button? I just ticked the map I wanted and added it no problem.