Making a better Music (Xbox Music) Experience

Ali El

Apr 3, 2014
Visit site
Let me cut this short.

I simply had ENOUGH of the experience in the natice music player and decided to take on the challenge and make my own :eck:
With the news of Xbox Music opening up to some extent, It hit me, I am an alright dev, the community is great, and now an integral part is available... We can actually do something about it... I think.

Don't you think it's a shame that from ALL the software companies in the world, possibly the largest one, MSFT can't even make a proper music player?​

So why the post? Well I would like to know the problems and if you want to share, ideas you guys have, a collaborative to make this new player something for US to use. Well I already have a solid idea for the UI/UX, I want to create something new, some might hate it, and some might love it, but the only way to know, is to make it come alive. Of course if the ideas I have don't work, it will be changed. For me, I feel like the whole MODERN design is working against an app like MUSIC, just too much tapping and navigation and irritating simple screens (YES, I know this is the whole point of modern clean designs, but come on, an entire screen, for say, a button or two is maybe simplifying too much, besides, this is an alternative.)

The process is going to be slow as I am going to research and see what can help us, since anyone that has worked on anything Media related, knows that some things are just on pure lockdown... *hint *hint > Playlists :devil:

The app will be focusing on being a music player first and then adding Xbox Music (also I want time to play with their API's and sh_t), as I want to get the experience locked in, then we can move forward from there.

Anything from bugs, errors, design flaws, to irritations that you think can be better will be appreciated.
So, let me know what you are experiencing and we can get this show on the road! woohoo.

anon(5326758)

May 5, 2011
Visit site