What is the difference between the Maps app and the Here Map app?

anon(9304652)

Feb 1, 2015
Visit site
Clarification over mapping apps

Hi guys. I'm relatively new to Windows Phone and wanted some answers about the mapping software on the device. My Nokia 930 comes shipped with an app simply called "Maps" and Nokia's HERE map app. I was wondering what the differences are between the two and which app Windows Phone users believe is the best. I've noticed that most apps, including Cortana, default to the "Maps" app when a location component is involved. Is there any way to change to default mapping app should I want to use HERE instead? I've also downloaded offline maps for both the UK and Switzerland and have noticed that both apps seem to be making use of the same data. Are the apps running from the same engine or is the data contained in the offline maps able to be interpreted by both apps.

Thanks!

gpobernardo

Jan 12, 2013
Visit site
Re: Clarification over mapping apps

Hi guys. I'm relatively new to Windows Phone and wanted some answers about the mapping software on the device. My Nokia 930 comes shipped with an app simply called "Maps" and Nokia's HERE map app. I was wondering what the differences are between the two and which app Windows Phone users believe is the best. I've noticed that most apps, including Cortana, default to the "Maps" app when a location component is involved. Is there any way to change to default mapping app should I want to use HERE instead? I've also downloaded offline maps for both the UK and Switzerland and have noticed that both apps seem to be making use of the same data. Are the apps running from the same engine or is the data contained in the offline maps able to be interpreted by both apps.

Thanks!

Both of these apps use map data provided by Bing.