Why won't people update to a new windows from XP?

Chintan Gohel

May 23, 2014
Visit site
The recent attack that has affected the NHS in UK and Telcom in Spain plus thousands of others around the world has certainly caught the attention of the world.

Blame is being thrown around left, right and centre. Microsoft is feeling the heat on not supporting Windows XP while governments and users are also being targeted for not updating their systems to a better windows.

My question is on the reasons why people around the world still use windows XP. What is preventing them from getting a new version? I can attempt to give some reasons below but it would be interesting to see the opinions from forums users around the world as well.

Last edited:

Chintan Gohel

May 23, 2014
Visit site
Let's look at corporations and companies - some still use windows XP - I work in a factory and some of the computers that control the different plants use XP - but they are not connected to the network - they are complety isolated

Reasons could be that:
  1. The software that runs a particular section of the plant or factory can only run on windows XP. The maker of that software never created a version that could run on a newer windows version - so to keep the plant running, the management is forced to use XP until such a time an updated software is available that can run on windows 10
  2. The hardware that runs windows XP cannot run any other version of windows - this could be a pentium 2 or 3, with low RAM and no network capabilities and such. So the hardware is the main restriction
  3. Like in my case, the computers running windows XP aren't connected and will never be connected - they probabaly don't even have LAN or wifi ports so there's no risk of getting infected hrough the internet. However, USB ports can be a possible gateway but the pcs are monitored 24/7 and the USB ports are locked by the IT department