Considering a Lumia 630 for my kid, a few questions though!

Paul Lindqvist

Jul 21, 2014
Visit site
Hi!

Im considering the budget Lumia 630 handset for my oldest daughter (12 years old)

Her current (smashed up) phone is a Sony Xperia Go which has served her well... as well as a android device can at least...

I'm a photography by profession and use soley Apple products for work, phones, tablets, laptops workstations etc.

Problem i'm having with handing iphones to my children is the cost and the durability. Iphones hardware isn't well suited for kid usage.

The iOS is a parent's dream come true though. Parentcontrol is so much better on iOS then Android.

So i thought i check out the newcomer (windows phone 8.1) apparently it's not much better then android ? Name the family account feature ?

I tried setting up my current microsoft account as a parent but i never got it working..:-(

So i have a few questions:

1. How do i setup my self as a parent ? I checked the FAQ and the guide tells me to add my self as a parent but i never get the option to do it. Tried to add a kid account and get to the login screen, but no option to create a new account ? Do i need to be on a pc to do this ?

2. With the family feature can i control which apps can be accessed and turn off internet access ?

3. The Lumia 630 is it a decent phone in terms of build quality and screen quality ? (for the price of course)

Im still haven't decided if it's worth trying out Windows Phone 8.1 or just get her the more expensive Sony Xperia V..

Thanx for any feedback!

Attachments

• Screenshot 2014-07-21 02.02.25.png
    Screenshot 2014-07-21 02.02.25.png
    295.3 KB · Views: 11
  • sc2.png
    sc2.png
    44.3 KB · Views: 12
  • sc3.jpg
    sc3.jpg
    23.5 KB · Views: 11

James8561

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
Not really. Setting up the phone can be done easily and smoothly on the device. It's just that it's easier to access windowsphone.com on a PC than on a small screen.