Car Charging Wireless Insufficient Amps?

evillama

Aug 11, 2012
Visit site
I'm no electrical engineer so looking to understand the differences in 1A vs. 1.5A or 2.5A car chargers.

I'm using a Qi cradle on a windshield mount and a separate Bluetooth-to-FM transmitter (two fabulous ideas, BTW) so I'm completely wireless in the car - I can use GPS while streaming music on my unlimited data plan. Unfortunately I'm finding that GPS navigation (HERE Drive+) will drain the power faster than it's charging (if I only stream music or news podcasts, the power drain/charge remains balanced).

My main question is though - the Qi charger says it's Output = 1A. Is this a limitation of wireless charging technology, or the adapter I'm using in the cigarette lighter socket? The Bluetooth-to-FM transmitter is always-on, plugged into the socket with a secondary USB charge port of 1.5A. I could get a splitter so I can use another 2.5A charger and plug the Qi into that, but I'm not sure if the "Output = 1A" is the bottleneck of charge into the phone?

In short, what is the true charge power through a Qi plate - is it limited to what the plate says, or what the socket charger says it will output to the phone?

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site
It would have been handy to know what phone you have. If you're on WP8 or WP8.1 etc. But I'll try to help.

If the wireless pad says it's only 1A, that's all it is, you can't increase it. There may be other pads that output more though.

Your adapter to the wireless pad should be sufficient for use. You need to know the input current of the wireless charger as it could be different than the output, possibly higher. Without knowing which pad your using I can't help.