Lumia 525 1080p Video Recording

• Thread starter WPCentral Question
  • Start date
W

WPCentral Question

Hello
Lumia 525 sports a MSM8227 as SOC and 1GB ram. Over the paper it should be truly capable of recording 1080p videos.
My question is that what prevents it to be a 1080p snapper?

Typhy

Aug 6, 2014
Visit site
I'm not an expert on this specific topic and for more in-depth look into this you would have to ask a camera engineer or something.

However camera sensors have limits, if the theory you guys are applying is true it would mean every 8.4MP or above camera sensor can support 4K capture.

It's not that simple and it has something to do with a smooth frame rate and bitrate(Google it).

There are "hidden potentials" of some camera sensors on devices for example people say the Sony sensor used on the iPhone 4S is capable of 4K capture but only in 4:3 and the processor doesn't support it.
O god, are you joking? just check the specification of Snapdragon s4 plus.

colinkiama

Oct 13, 2013
Visit site
The 800 MHz iPhone 4S processor is capable of 1080p capture, because the processor used is of very high quality.
Actually it's just Extremely optimised due to how Apple only made one phone every year. Now they make two phones but the 5c is really just a 5 in plastic. Put that chip in an android Phone and you'll see the lag.

salmanahmad

Banned
May 12, 2014
Visit site
O god, are you joking? just check the specification of Snapdragon s4 plus.
If you are talking about the specifications you should read that it says "up to 1080p", why does it say 1080p? The reason is that Snapdragon S4 had many many variants.

Just for reference I'll say this:

The Lumia 520 came with a low-end Snapdragon S4 that was capable of 1080p playback but not of 1080p capture.

Whereas the Nexus 4 and Xperia Z came with a high end Snapdragon S4 processor capable of 1080p capture and playback.

In short 1080p capture is not possible on the 520 and 525.