Just got cyan/8.1 update but no Cortana?

W

WPCentral Question

Lumia 1020, just updated a few hours ago. When i hold the magnifying glass icon, I can speak, and I hear a female voice reading what I said back to me (I think this is the default text to speech voice, but i've never used it before so I don't know, It definitely doesnt sound like Cortana), but it doesnt have the purplish ring symbol that i've seen in all the news articles, and she doesnt answer any of the silly questions.

My region is set to United States and the format is set to english. The speech language is set to US/English also.

Theres no Cortana "app" on the app store. I assumed she came bundled with the 8.1 update, what gives?

nadroj915

Nov 28, 2013
Visit site
I have the same problem. I'm in China, and just received the cyan/8.1 update. There is NO Cortana. My location services are turned on. My region is set to Canada, and my language is set to English. I have gone into Settings > Applications, and there is no "Cortana" (or "Xiao Na" for that matter) in the list. What's the deal??

wp_ss_20140815_0001.png

pankaj981

Jul 10, 2012
Visit site
I have the same problem. I'm in China, and just received the cyan/8.1 update. There is NO Cortana. My location services are turned on. My region is set to Canada, and my language is set to English. I have gone into Settings > Applications, and there is no "Cortana" (or "Xiao Na" for that matter) in the list. What's the deal??

View attachment 76705
Non USA version of Cortana was enabled in the 8.1 Update 1 update which only folks on Preview for Developers have received, you should have OS version 8.10.14147.180 and set your region, language both to China to get Xiao Na

nadroj915

Nov 28, 2013
Visit site
Non USA version of Cortana was enabled in the 8.1 Update 1 update which only folks on Preview for Developers have received, you should have OS version 8.10.14147.180 and set your region, language both to China to get Xiao Na