iPhone 5 to Windows Phone 8?

W

WPCentral Question

I just purchased a new Dell Venue 8 Pro 64GB with a few accessories for $300. It is really great and I have done nothing but play with it for the last 3 days. I develop web applications for a living and often work on ASP.NET / SQL Server projects. My personal computer is a Macbook and my phone is an iPhone 5. I hate the metro interface on desktops (and now Win Server 2012) and I never thought I would like it on a tablet, but the tablet has taken hold like nothing else. I am now considering switching to a Windows phone or at least having one around to support development projects. Apple is rather douchey on this point and doesn't have a footprint in web application servers / platforms anyway. I want to explore Windows / IIS / ASP.NET development with support for phone clients.

I've been looking at an unlocked Nokia 822 CDMA/GSM phone for ~$110. No strings or contracts attached. I gathered that I can register the phone with MS and install the dev preview to get the latest software. I'm still under contract for a few months with Vz and I think this phone can be activated in place of my iPhone. Am I missing anything? What keeps you on Windows phone instead of the typical iOS or Android platforms? My daughter borrowed a worn Windows 8 phone with a broken charger port for me to check out. I got to play with it for a few minutes before the battery died and is similar to my tablet but much leaner. I appreciate any thoughts or feedback. Thanks,

Lee

DJCBS

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
Am I missing anything? What keeps you on Windows phone instead of the typical iOS or Android platforms? My daughter borrowed a worn Windows 8 phone with a broken charger port for me to check out. I got to play with it for a few minutes before the battery died and is similar to my tablet but much leaner. I appreciate any thoughts or feedback. Thanks,

Lee