Building my first computer, need some help

raul_junior

Jan 24, 2013
Visit site
So I'm coming from a MacBook pro I've always bought computers and never have made them, but I think its time i should try it out, I heard its cheaper and you can get exactly what you want, since this is my first time, I thought I would ask the community for some pointers on making a computer I plan on having windows 8 on it and upgrading to 10 when it comes out, I'm a music producer I use ableton and vsts with it, I have an external soundcard (focusrite saphire 2i2) and I have 2 krk rokit 5s with it, I'm looking for specs that will work nicely with that sort of software, so if you have any tips or videos that will help me how to learn to build the computer than please do help, also I haven't really decided if I wanted a laptop or a desktop, I'm leaning towards desktop. Thanks

several potatos

Oct 6, 2014
Visit site
You'll definitely want to go desktop over laptop for the sheer reliability and power. I would say you generally want at least a quadcore (beware, there are still dual-cores out there) and, for future-proofing, at LEAST 8gb RAM. Avoid solid state, as they don't last as long and are generally unreliable right now.

Felix Bank

Aug 12, 2014
Visit site
Avoid solid state, as they don't last as long and are generally unreliable right now.

A pretty bold statement that I find incorrect. SSD's these days are excellent and reliable. Samsung, Intel, and a few other's make awesome SSD's.

Go for quad core i7 CPU's with Hyper-threading. Running A lot of audio production app's need RAM space, so 8GB is good, although 16GB isn't much more. Use an SSD as your C: drive for programs and then run at least 2 HDD's, one for the audio files and the other for samples. You could start off with lesser equipment, but it really depends on your budget and how much work your going to do on this machine.