Can anyone give me some advice regarding running Android apps on a Win 7 tablet?

wescat

Nov 30, 2014
Visit site
Advice needed regarding running Android apps on Win 7 tablet

I just purchased a used, ruggedized 7" tablet that runs windows 7. I will use this tablet as a dedicated GPS on my motorcycles. I greatly prefer the current Android GPS navigation apps over the current crop of windows compatible GPS navigation software.

So, my question(s) all pertain to how best to get Android apps to work on this tablet:

1) I could run them via an Android emulation, such as bluestacks. I have no experience with these type programs, so I have no idea how this would work.
2) Is it possible to do a clean install of some version of the Android OS on this tablet? Again, never done it, so I have no idea how well it would work.
3) I have heard that the Nokia "Here" GPS app is pretty good, but as best I can tell they do not offer a windows 7 version.
4) Perhaps some of the Android GPS apps are offered in a WIndows 7 version as well? Although I do not know how to determine this.
5) Something else?

Any help is appreciated.

RumoredNow

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Re: Advice needed regarding running Android apps on Win 7 tablet

Knowing exactly what Tablet might be helpful...

1) I played with BlueStacks for a minute when it first came out. I tried it on a Win 7 laptop with an AMD Athlon dual core 2GHz and 4GB RAM. It was laggy and fussy and not everything would load in terms of apps. I know BlueStacks has improved since then, but I imagine at your Tablet specs there will be performance issues to consider.
2) I'm going to go ahead and say no. Android is not going to install on your tablet just as a general rule. To double check do a web search for "<tablet name> flash android" and most likely you will see lots of people asking, but no definite yes answers.