Can I access Encrypted Zip Files through my Windows phone?

David Ginsburg

Apr 15, 2014
Visit site
Encrypted Zip Files

My work started sending pdf files as encrypted zip files. I tried to download them on my phone, but they are blocked.

Is there any way to access them through my windows phone?

Thank you in advance.

David

Loco5150

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: Encrypted Zip Files

What do you mean you can download them? The email client does not support the attachment and wont download it or?

I have no experience with encrypted zip files and WP, so really don't know the limitations.

David Ginsburg

Apr 15, 2014
Visit site

I am using the stock email app. It's running an outlook.com account.

I download the file, the email program won't let me save it. When I click to open it says there is a problem extracting the file.

I try to use IE and login to outlook.com and open the file, but get a similar warning.

When searching the internet, it makes it sound like I can't download these types of files, but haven't found anything specific that says I can't.

David

aurelian177

Dec 14, 2014
Visit site

Hello,

Try transferring the encrypted zipped .pdf to OneDrive. Afterwards install http://www.windowsphone.com/s?appid=f9441315-44e5-43f1-8044-cc62a0976d1e and select unpack - onedrive- unpack location and Ta Da. Pdf unpacked. Use MS app FILES to acces the folder and open with your favourite pdf app. Tested for ZipCrypto encryption method. Works very well.

On the other hand you can use the below method:

To download zip files to sd card/phone storage use Maestro (Preview) as e-mail manager. It's a very nice looking app and gives you the possibility to download zip files before opening.

http://www.windowsphone.com/s?appid=b75be3fa-fbf8-4c1a-bd39-1517c1d6aec0

It's in the preview status but works well.

Then use the steps fo unpack that I mentioned in the beginning.

Regards,

Me AV

Last edited:

David Ginsburg

Apr 15, 2014
Visit site