Surface 3 or Surface 3 Pro?

• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

Surface 3 or Surface 3 Pro

Hi Looking for advice :

Got a Macbook from 2011 that's getting full and a little sluggish, battery less reliable etc. Thinking of wiping it and using just for Logic Pro/work etc etc...

Instead of paying a grand for another Apple product I'm thinking about a Surface... Cheaper and would be good to use alongside my Mac. I'm a musician so ideally would like to keep my mac for music-related things and my Surface for day-day things.

There is quite a difference in price between S3 and SP3 and I was wondering what the performance differences are between the 2? Even though right now I don't envisage it to be needed for power-hungry usage, I don't want to be a year down the line and wish I'd got the more powerful one if there is significant difference in power capability.

I'd also like to know how good the SD implementation is: Can I save anything at all to that or just media/files etc or can I also save apps on there?

Any help/advice would be hugely appreciated. I think if Microsoft didn't shaft us for the ?110 keyboard before I left the shop I'd have probably got one but that cost just acts as a barrier for me. Laptop replacement (but you need to pay more for that to actually be a reality).

J

Geo Hutchings

Mar 1, 2015
Visit site
Re: Surface 3 or Surface 3 Pro

Hi Looking for advice :

Got a Macbook from 2011 that's getting full and a little sluggish, battery less reliable etc. Thinking of wiping it and using just for Logic Pro/work etc etc...

Instead of paying a grand for another Apple product I'm thinking about a Surface... Cheaper and would be good to use alongside my Mac. I'm a musician so ideally would like to keep my mac for music-related things and my Surface for day-day things.