Installing Windows 10 ON an external hard drive & Surface Pro 4/5(?) vs Macbook Pro Retina

• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

Greeting Windows Central users,

I am currently studying engineering and is at the crossroads on which laptop or 2 in 1s to buy. I currently have 2 choices:

i) Buy a Macbook Pro Retina (i5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD) and an external hard disk with Windows 10 installed on it.
ii) Buy a Surface Pro 4/5, 4 if the price is low enough when the 5 comes out, depends on how well Kaby Lake is. I'll get the type cover as well.

If you have any other laptops or choices in mind, please let me know.

Here're my usage scenario:
i) Watch movies (stream from websites), watch youtube videos.
ii) Web browsing like 9gag, looking at things I can't afford to buy, language learning websites (Duolingo, Deutsche Welle).
iii) Run finite element engineering software that are exclusive to Windows.
iv) Off the wall (6 to 8 hours away from the wall socket) traveling with the laptop or 2 in 1.
v) Writing reports on the go like in iv)

Here're my gripes with the OS-es.
Windows 10
i) Confusing OS. No idea where the proper settings are, windows updates unpredictable (Take Surface Pro 4 battery life issue as the example), too many "layers" of settings, NO MORE PLACEHOLDER FOR ONEDRIVE.
ii) Bad and unpredictable battery life, don't deny it, you all know how it's like.
iii) Software installation often involves registry editing (the installers does it on its own) and leaves a trail of chaos when you uninstall it. Redundant folders and files often left where they are.
iv) Feeling of Microsoft might abandon the users anytime. ANYTIME. Looking at you Windows 10 Mobile.

macOS
i) Somewhat limited customization
ii) Unable to run many engineering software
iii) iCloud is as confusing as OneDrive

Okay so after all the above, here are my reasons why I narrowed down to the 2 choices above:
i) MBPr + external hard drive with Windows 10