Burning and playing DVDs

• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

I am a novice and struggle with Windows 10. I have burned a Word 2013 file to a Sony DVD + RW 4-7 GB disc. It plays on my Dell desktop BUT is not recognised by my Blue Ray DVD player with my TV. Need simple instructions if possible please to solve the problem Am struggling to solve the problem

RJ Priest

Feb 13, 2013
Visit site
If you burned a Word document to your DVD +RW, why would you need it to play on a bluray player? It's not going to let you view a Word document on your TV. The blueray player will lack the capability to view the Word file.

Off the top of my head (may not all be correct):
- Blueray player probably doesn't support +RW discs.
- The disc may have been burned by Windows in the mode which doesn't finalize the disc.

When it comes to burning DVDs, for best compatibility with the widest range of devices, use a DVD -R disc. I don't even think you can find +R anymore, and RW discs are best for PC use only.

midnightfrolic

Aug 2, 2015
Visit site
To add on to the above post.

A typical home theater bluray player can only play media files - music and movies. It does not have the programming to open up any other types of files, even if it could detect them. Word is a proprietary file format created by Microsoft. They can usually only be opened with Microsoft Word program, or any word processing program that can convert it.

The reason your Dell desktop can read it is because it's a full fledge computer that can read arbitrary data on most physical media (CD, DVD, flash drives, HDD, SSD,...etc). Computer and be programmed to open a variety of file formats. If you installed Microsoft Word on the computer, obviously, it will be able to read/write Word files.