Dan, Can You Help This Consultant Look Sexy?

Henrik Becker

Jul 12, 2017
Visit site
Hi Dan,

Disclaimer: this post is full of first world problems. ;)

TL;DR: Do I want a Surface Pro 2017 or do I want an HP Spectre x2? And which variant?

So, I'm a freelance marketing automation consultant. I meet with marketing managers and business owners, build them sexy lead generation and nurturing machines and look awesome while doing it.

Okay, that last part... not so much.

See, I care a lot about the environment and stuff. I try and buy stuff that will last, so it won't go to waste.

My current laptop is a 2012 MacBook Pro i7/8 Gig RAM/128 SSD. I shelled out on it when I went freelance and it's served me very well, running much smoother and stable than any of the Windows machines I'd worked on before that.

However!

It's got a big fast dent in the cover (dropped an iPad on it... I told you there'd be first world problems...). It's got a horribly low 1280x800 screen resolution. And it's heavy.

Considering Dutch taxes allow you to deduct a computer in five years, I figure it's time for a new one. And this one is going to my sister-in-law (no throwing away a good computer!).

Since I use my computer all over the place (meetings in, meetings out, office here, office there) I want it to be portable. It needs to be sturdy, it needs to last without a charge (although I'm not on flights or anything, a power socket is never really far away) and it needs to look just as sexy as I am (nooo oneeee TYPES like Gaston, touchscreen SWIPES like Gaston!).

And since I'm NOT impressed with Apple lately (Touch bar? Really?) those awesome looking Windows 2-in-1s have caught my eye.

But... I can't make a decision!

Which one is best for my work?

(I should note that, if I can, I will occasionally play a game on it... but it's a "nice to have" by all accounts).