Views about Build 2018!

Pacus1x

Jun 25, 2013
Visit site
Looks like MS is now really focused in what they want and they seem very confident about it... the bad news is that most of those features and innovations are not for consumer space or casual users. I think MS is getting away from consumer market every year and at the end it will only enterprise, B2B, cloud and AI products i won't be surprise if they let go and put in sale the Xbox and Surface division.

HeyCori

Mod Emeritus
Mar 1, 2011
Visit site
Since I'm not a developer, I'm usually pretty neutral on Build. It's not like Build isn't important, but it's also just a tiny glimpse at where the company is going. There's a truly ground breaking announcement at Build every once in a while (and the same goes for other developer conferences) so I try not to get overly hyped about it.

KeybladeSpyMaster

Dec 31, 2017
Visit site
I kinda was disappointed, but that's as a consumer. As it is a developer conference, I come into Build with a completely different perspective than the target audience. That said, I think Microsoft would do well to have an annual consumer-focused conference to showcase the products, both hardware and software, that they're working on and will soon release. They have Ignite already, and I believe that's more enterprise, so why not a consumer-focused one?

YKinase

Jul 29, 2013
Visit site
Excited about all the cognitive services available to developers. Hard push on azure but that's to be expected and not unwelcome. Would have liked to hear more about Hololens OS plans but the two new apps are good to hear about.

slepr

Apr 2, 2012
Visit site
My take is that build is for developers and not consumers like me. Like others, I get a sense that MS is becoming less general-consumer focused and am beginning to think that adromeda may never come to fruition.

anon(10458357)

May 11, 2018
Visit site
As a consumer facing developer it was a slap in the face honestly.