• Thread starter Windows Central Question
  • Start date
W

Windows Central Question

I think my windows 10 Home pc has been hacked

Deborah_Sawyer

Jul 2, 2015
Visit site
Your router can be hacked and they can have access to your computer. That's why I mention if you had strong passwords for your router. Also have you talked to anyone on the phone regarding getting access to your computer? Never let anyone access your computer! Did you receive a pop up on your screen saying you had a virus and you let someone access your computer?

This is what I asked my customers. I am a IT Consultant.

the best thing I can tell you is to create a strong password for your router, and change it. Never give out that password.

Lydia21

Dec 5, 2018
Visit site
Deborah, it is my oh's computer. No he would never speak to anyone on the phone regarding accessing his laptop. He did experience where his internet kept throwing up multiple web pages at once which he did not request. He has never let anyone unauthorised access his laptop. His AVG antivirus stopped working in February 2017 and he couldn't reset it so contacted AVG and they tried to sort the problem, they had remote access to try to sort it. They were unable to sort it so escalated to their senior team. At one point while the senior team adviser was trying to sort the issue the remote session got disconnected and reconnected again and the adviser said that it was due to fluctuating internet connection (I thought that fibre WiFi didn't fluctuate) I think there is a strong possibility that a hacker has entered the laptop via a back door at this point, unknown to my oh. The adviser managed to sort the issue and we thought everything was ok.

Lydia21

Dec 5, 2018
Visit site