Is the camera on the Lumia 950/XL comparable to the Note 9's shooter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rodneyej

Nov 21, 2011
Visit site
Is the camera on the Lumia 950/XL comparable to the Note 9's shooter, or any other modern high-end smartphones?

Personally, I think it still is. Owning both a Note 9, and Lumia 950 (and GS7 as a work issued device), I've noticed the 950 has better clarity, sharpness, less grain, and overall picture quality, than the Note9 (for my taste). Where the N9 comes greater is color accuracy, and reproduction, and low light shots (not to mention more features, speed, and stability). I'm no expert, but I'm thinking the N9 manages depth better as well. I've tried tons of comparison shots with both phones and both have their strengths, but what's interesting is that the almost 4 years old 950 is still a comparable camera, and, depending on perspective, could literally be better when it comes to pure picture quality. What do yall think?

Last edited:

nate0

Mar 1, 2015
Visit site
Is the camera on the Lumia 950/XL comparable to the Note 9's shooter, or any other modern high-end smartphones?

Personally, I think it still is. Owning both a Note 9, and Lumia 950 (and GS7 as a work issued device), I've noticed the 950 has better clarity, sharpness, less grain, and overall picture quality, than the Note9 (for my taste). Where the N9 comes greater is color accuracy, and reproduction, and low light shots. I'm no expert, but I'm thinking the N9 manages depth better as well. I've tried tons of comparison shots with both phones and both have their strengths, but what's interesting is that the almost 4 years old 950 is still a comparable camera, and, depending on perspective, could literally be better. What do yall think?
Absolutely.