My Asus T100 Review - A Versatile Workhorse

MSFTisMIA

Dec 20, 2012
Visit site
I'm not trying to replicate the review from AnandTech because they a fantastic job from a comprehensive perspective. My experiences here are from a more average user.

I bought the T100 to replace my well aged Asus EEPC 1005HA netbook and my HP Touchpad. I have been using XP since January 2002 as my daily driver at home. Yes, I skipped over on upgrade opportunities for Vista, Window 7 and Windows 8. So once I decided to got to graduate school, I realized my netbook was too slow for note taking and my Touchpad lacked the full versatility I needed - even though it is a dual boot with Android Jellybean on it. I don't use my desktop as much when i am at home, unless it is to write papers, manage music on my phone or mess around with my Nexus phone. So I needed something that I could use as a tablet to browse while watching TV, type notes on in classes and to do paper outlines, and to compliment my WP8 models - the 8X and possibly a Lumia 925.

It was hard to find much info on the T100. previews were slim and up to 8.1 launch AnandTech was the only full preview out there. BestBuy USA wasn't going to carry this at launch, since they were pushing the Surface line in stores. So I did what any smart person in the computer world would to - got o Tgerdirect.com or negg.com to see if they had it. I got mine from newgg.com. I wanted the 64GB version because quite frankly, I have no intentions in upgrading for a while - I kept my Touchpad for 2 years, and will still use it because I love WebOS. I pay $400 for it - got the free shipping option and received it under 4 days - I'm in the NYC Metro Area.

Here are my impressions from the past 2 weeks + of ownership.