Contact list and sending a text.

slim6y

Dec 22, 2014
Visit site
Hi Blu Win HD users - or any Windows 8.1 phone users - I admit I am a total noob at this and I have several questions. But this one has actually got me stumped. I'm not new at Windows 8.1 (laptop and tablet) but I am very new to a Windows phone. So please help.

I have a sim card loaded and it's working. But all I want to do is send my daughter and my wife and my friends a text message. But for the life of me I can't find my contact list from the sim card (saved from a previous phone) nor can I update "People" to include "send a text message (SMS)". Why not?

Ok, while this seems very noob - the answer doesn't come at me from the manual or from my seemingly unintelligent fiddling around. This should be the easiest thing. I have all my friends imported from Facebook, Messenger, Mail, etc - but not one phone number imported. Yet, when my wife texts me I get her name coming up. But I can't just save that number to contacts nor can I find a quick send message to...

I hope it's something so simple that I can just hit one button... but from what it looks like, i have to add them all manually. :unhappysweat:

gMaesterUK

Jun 29, 2014
Visit site
I have a sim card loaded and it's working. But all I want to do is send my daughter and my wife and my friends a text message. But for the life of me I can't find my contact list from the sim card (saved from a previous phone) nor can I update "People" to include "send a text message (SMS)". Why not?

Have you tried People >> Settings >> import from SIM? - "Settings" can be found on the bottom right of the People screen shown as "...".

gMaesterUK

Jun 29, 2014
Visit site
As for sending a SMS, there are a number of different ways:

1. People - click the name of the contact, and press text (should show SMS underneath)