Number Porting & MVNO's

MRKV

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
I'm looking to switch from AT&T to Straight Talk but I have no experience with porting a number from one provider to another. The process seems easy enough however what they don't really give you is a definite time on how long the process takes. I use this number for work also so it's important to me that I keep it with as little downtime as possible. My question is really two fold. 1.) For those of you that have done this before, roughly how long did it take for your number to work on the new provider and 2.) Is there any "blackout" period you experienced during it? I'm concerned with missing work related calls/texts.

Thanks

Gawain

May 18, 2011
Visit site
I'm looking to switch from AT&T to Straight Talk but I have no experience with porting a number from one provider to another. The process seems easy enough however what they don't really give you is a definite time on how long the process takes. I use this number for work also so it's important to me that I keep it with as little downtime as possible. My question is really two fold. 1.) For those of you that have done this before, roughly how long did it take for your number to work on the new provider and 2.) Is there any "blackout" period you experienced during it? I'm concerned with missing work related calls/texts.

Thanks

Mobile-to-mobile number porting usually takes only a few minutes, but the standard allows up to three hours I think. Personally, I've never seen it take longer than 10 minutes, but that was on number ports with "real" carriers, not MVNOs. That said, I'm not a fan of any of the MVNOs. When something goes wrong, it takes twice as long to fix something. Also make sure your phone is unlocked.

micallan_17

Sep 11, 2012
Visit site