Using the Band HR monitor while in afib (atrial fibrillation)

Otto Gunter

May 23, 2013
Visit site
Has anyone had any experience using the Band while in afib (atrial fibrillation)? Are the readings accurate or at least helpful?

I provide this information manually now, to my physician, but would prefer to use a monitor and to determine when and for how long I'm in afib. Even if the HR is not an accurate reading. I'm hoping the Band will do the job for me.

Snow Wight

Feb 19, 2013
Visit site
If you are in Atrial Fibrillation, it will just show an irregular heartbeat. It may show if you go into fast AF, but only as a fast/irregular pulse as it is not an ECG and will not record wave forms.

DroidUser42

Nov 7, 2014
Visit site
Keep in mind that in "normal mode" it only monitors your HR for 1 minute out of every 10. As such it's sampling, not taking a continuous reading. (Exercise mode is continuous.)

I have no knowledge of afib, but that seems like a limited diagnostic of what I'd hope would be a short-term event.

Otto Gunter

May 23, 2013
Visit site
I am aware that it is not a continuous reading, but I'm looking for confirmation that, while the HR is normal, the Band will record it successfully as normal and that "abnormal" readings from afib will not render those readings useless. Note that afib can last for days, with hours of normal HR in between that I need to record.

If you have no knowledge of afib you are indeed fortunate (and likely younger than me!). May that hold true for the rest of your life.

Last edited:

idokamaroq

Jan 16, 2012
Visit site