Band 2 Discussion and suggestons.

Jimybobby

Oct 13, 2015
Visit site
Hi All newbie here.

I have had the original band since launch and have pre ordered the Band 2 as am now a huge fan.
I watched the Microsoft event and was somewhat impressed with the new band but was left stumped as to why the band was not NFC enabled or have I missed something?

At this point with everyone and everything going NFC payment the band not having NFC seems a monumental error/oversight and something they should definitely look to fit to the next band. Being Android iOS and Windows enabled it would make the band that much more of a competitor to the other smart watches out there not least based on price.

Apple iWatch at ?300+ starting point versus a microsoft band at ?200 but able to use apple pay would be a definite winner.

Anyone think the new band may be missing any other tricks.

realwarder

Dec 31, 2012
Visit site
I did expect NFC. Microsoft is using the barcode system for payments but it isn't as universal.

I'd like to think they have a surprise up their sleeve and it has NFC support but until they introduce a payment system they are not announcing it, but who knows, it likely doesn't have anything.

Not sure it's missing tricks... support for Cortana on iOS etc. are missing and who knows, if the OS APIs change they can add that later.

Still think its good value for money for what it does. They added support for Golf and Biking.. so perhaps other key sports will get special features... Soccer mode to measure kicks etc. :)

The strap looks like it might be removable too. Maybe... so perhaps straps will come later if they take off.

erichyde43

Mar 31, 2015
Visit site
Unfortunately, NFC just didn't fit into this model. From what i gather, the entire plan for this round was to take what they had, and make it more appealing to the consumer: more durable, prettier, more comfortable.