5 Things Microsoft Can Do To Improve the Band 2 ? And it is all about the software, mostly

haleme

Oct 4, 2011
Visit site
A few little disclaimers about me. I am a developer turned IT manager and have been in the industry for 20 years. I own and use a Lumia 920, Moto G (2015) and an IPhone 6. While I prefer the Windows interface over IOS and Android, I am using the Moto as my daily driver right now and the 6 as a work device. My wife and daughter both have Windows Phones, but my wife prefers the speed of the camera and app selection on her iPhone 4S over her Lumia 830. My wife also prefers the Windows interface over IOS and Android. She has also had a Band 2 since the launch date in October, so some of the feedback here is hers.

I have been using the Band 2 for over a week and while I think the hardware is fantastic, there are a few software items that need to be addressed. My previous fitness wearables were Fitbits; starting with an Ultra, moving to the One, then progressing through the Charge, Charge HR and Surge. Oddly, my brother in law had a Fitbit Surge about as long as I did, but traded in his for a Garmin that gets almost 3 weeks of battery over the Surge?s 7 days.

1. Step Counting
This is so obvious and glaring, it should have never left the lab in this state. If you have ever used a Fitbit, the Band will be a huge disappointment for you. My wife's first and still biggest complaint is her Band does not accurately count steps. Trip to Target, zero steps. Chasing daughter around the house all afternoon, 150 steps. Walking and looking at the Band to see how many steps I need to complete my daily step goal, no active updates. It is so underwhelming and demotivating to think you are being active while cleaning the house and the Band only rewards you with 50 steps. All of my Fitbits would recognize the movement and record the activity as steps. The Band should too.