Do you NEED Continuum?

horseybob

Apr 17, 2013
Visit site
Your link doesn't work. Anyway go ahead and add $230 to that price for MS Office. $100 dock isn't looking so expensive now is it?

We just keep covering the same ground over and over and over again in this thread.
Odd that it didn't work, it's a link to the HP store for a Stream 11. MSRP is $199.
Trying again:
HP Stream 11

I don't have one personally, as my needs are in the Enterprise, so a maxed out i7 quad-core is my daily companion. But for non-work or most schooling, one of those would be just fine. For <$200 and a free year of Office and a TB of OneDrive at list price I'm waiting for Black Friday!

Must note that I have an MSDN Ultimate subscription, so have zero sensitivity to the software pricing. Yep, I'm spoiled.

And yes, I VERY much want Continuum. To tie my desktops, laptops, XBOX, phone and servers together and in turn my home automation and network better than I can now? HELL YES!

Last edited:

anon(9630986)

Sep 3, 2015
Visit site
I don't understand why people think this. This won't help "emerging markets" one bit as long as they're charging almost as much for the continum hub as they charge for low end laptops and tablets which are infinitely more useful. If they market continum as a wireless hdmi device on par with a google chromecast it might stand a chance.

How come you don't want to accept that: 1) continuum can work without a dock and that 2) lumia 950 series isn't for the impoverished?

Geodude074

Feb 12, 2014
Visit site
I'm curious... do all the pro continuum people realize you can buy a Windows 10 laptop for less than $200? I'm typing this out on my Asus x205ta that i bought last fall for $140. Full windows 10, I can run x86 apps on it and have no need for an external monitor, keyboard, or need to worry about draining the battery in my phone. Plus it's incredibly thin, weighs 2 lbs and would barely take up more room in my bag than a bluetooth keyboard.