Will Cortana be present for non US Developer preview users?

KrisJoeEll

Aug 11, 2013
Visit site
As the title says, am from India and will my 8.1 dev preview (4/10) come with no Cortana?

And its my first time trying a dev preview. So anything I should be concerned about?

SonOfDad

Jun 25, 2011
Visit site
My biggest question at the moment. If it does I'll just hold off getting the full update until she's released in Australia, likely in in 2017!! And I had the dev preview of GDR3 no fears as long as you've got you phone unlocked already and 'preview for developers' app installed.

Apr 11, 2011
Visit site
Cortana is launching US first and that includes the dev preview update that will hit phones a week from now.

Workarounds to enable Cortana would likely require a user to completely wipe their notebook in order to have Cortana be accurate when it does launch in their region.

Kashyapjani

Jan 18, 2013
Visit site
Regarding devprev and warranty, you shouldn't be concerned. It is true that warranty MIGHT be considered void if the device is on dev prev, it will resume once the actual update is pushed out. Dev prev is almost a final build so it shouldn't harm your device. If in case, it runs into a problem, don't open your mouth about the preview when you go to Nokia Care. ;) "I don't know. My brother was using the phone!"

KrisJoeEll

Aug 11, 2013
Visit site
Cortana is launching US first and that includes the dev preview update that will hit phones a week from now.

Workarounds to enable Cortana would likely require a user to completely wipe their notebook in order to have Cortana be accurate when it does launch in their region.

This is very disappointing. Only releasing in US could help them test Cortana and remove bugs but given the amount of hype, there will be a lot of hate towards Microsoft in this matter.
I hope they bring it soon. I'd give them at most 3~6 months.

marratj

Nov 10, 2012
Visit site