No cortana on 8x?

John r D

Jun 10, 2014
Visit site
Newbie here guys so go easy on me lol. I bought a HTC 8x the other day it's running 8.1 everything is good accept i don't have the cortana thing lol. I'm in canada and my location is set up as United States!
Thanks for any help in advance!

stickyshocker

Jun 24, 2012
Visit site
If its anything like my uk 8x I cant whatever I do delete the uk setting I can add but not remove as built into the firmware. You on the other hand maybe in with a chance of making sure every setting keyboard, language, region and speech are all set to us and have no other regions on there and reboot the phone and should all be working. If like me you have an extra region that wont delete its not going to work sorry!

John r D

Jun 10, 2014
Visit site
I've tried everything still nothing :-( everything is set to united states, in the language setting there english united kingdom and it won't let me delete it! just like stickeyshocker had said, no go i guess

Last edited:

BaritoneGuy

Jun 20, 2012
Visit site
I've tried everything still nothing :-( everything is set to united states, in the language setting there english united kingdom and it won't let me delete it! just like stickeyshocker had said, no go i guess

On the bright side the UK is one of the first on the list to get it when it rolls out. Not sure why HTC did what they did with the 8x

stickyshocker

Jun 24, 2012
Visit site
On the bright side the UK is one of the first on the list to get it when it rolls out. Not sure why HTC did what they did with the 8x

Who knows why htc do what they do with anything. As for the actual question the uk settings that would be your problem just like the rest of us.

BataBole

Jan 28, 2014
Visit site
Same here with 8s. I did hard reset many times and there is no option to set English (US) as primary language/region on phone. We have to wait for official release of Cortana for UK.

henry.gray

Jun 20, 2012
Visit site