Developer Wannabe

slsterling

Dec 19, 2010
www.twitter.com
I want to try and learn how to develop WP7 apps. My goal is to make an app for tumblr since all of the existing ones aren't very good. However, I have no experience with programming other than building websites.

I've looked up the App Hub and C9 tutorials but I think I'm ever more of a newbie than their newbie guides are geared toward. The first problem I've come across is that I want to build a Mango compatible app but it seems like the guides are outdated and so the steps are not accurate. Also, should I code in C# or the other language Visual Studio has? Then, how the heck do I integrate the tumblr API? I'm assuming this is basic knowledge for programmers so my question is about what tools you'd recommend for a beginner? I don't have the funds to take a course or buy a book so if you could recommend any tutorials that would be necessary to get on the fast track, I'd greatly appreciate it.

thed

Jan 6, 2011
Visit site
Once you get the hang of C# and .NET a bit, then you can look into tumblr. I'm not familiar with the tumblr API at all, but you might be able to find a .NET library to make it easier. A quick search found this library:

TumblrAPI.NET

It's pretty old and hasn't been updated in a while so maybe you can find something newer that works better. But even if it doesn't fully work you can look at the code and get some understanding of how to use the tumblr API.

jeffa00

Dec 2, 2010
galacticbeacon.com
I'd definitely spend some time here: Code Samples for Windows Phone

No, you won't understand it at first, but looking through the code samples will help you start to get a feel for the code and the structure.

You say you have done web development. Safe to guess javascript? If so I'd definitely stay with C# since both are rooted in the C language. Giant pitfalls going from one to the other, however, so be aware that what makes sense in one won't necessarily in the other, even if they look similar.