If I want to develop an app for wp7, what language do I learn?

btbam91

Sep 26, 2011
Visit site
Complete newbie here. If I am interested in developing applications for WP7, where do I start in terms of learning how to code? The only coding background I have is MATLAB which I enjoy a lot.

Thanks for the help.

pseudoware

Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
C# or VB.NET is your first step. Either can be used to code WP apps. There are already a couple other threads in this forum that provide good, first-step resources. Good luck.

Sent from my HTC Inspire 4G using Tapatalk

jeremyshaw

Oct 21, 2011
Visit site
And if you are hopelessly outmatched, XAML/Silverlight... they are the interface layer. Underneath is powered by C#, which is mostly a play of logic (after getting the syntax down).

XAML is *almost* drag and drop. You can create basic info applications using almost pure XAML (map, directory, etc). It's a markup language with a WYSIWYG editor built in. Almost like building websites with Frontpage or Dreamweaver.

All this, and the above[edit:above+above] post, are included in the WP7 SDK, avalible free. Have fun!

Oh.... and it's good practice to document/comment what you are doing when making an application. That way, if you need to edit it a year or so later, you don't have to relearn some of the intrinsities of what you were doing last year :p

JedH

Dec 8, 2011
Visit site
Definitely learn C# over VB.NET if you want to get into it.

FIRST THING YOU NEED TO DO IS go to App Hub - windows phone and xbox live indie games development and register there, then go through all of their resources and examples, then get the book 101 Windows Phone Apps, it's the best development book I've ever read.

I switched to WP7 development from iOS as my mainstay about 6 months ago and now work as a full time WP7 developer and it's insane how quick you can pick it up.

Boodev

Sep 18, 2011
Visit site